Students of this University can accept financial assistance from all recognized sources so long as the conditions imposed by the donors for continued acceptance of such aids are not violated. The following scholarship and awards are offered by various agencies through the University.

S.N. Name of the Scholarship / Award Awarding Agency Value of Scholarship
1. National Scholarship Director, Higher Education
Orissa, Bhubaneswar
Rs. 300 P.M. (for boarders)
Rs. 120 P.M. (day scholars)
2. State Loan Stipend Director, Higher Education, Orissa, Bhubaneswar Rs. 12,000/- P.A.
3. Post Matric Scholarship for SC/ST students District Welfare Officer, Sambalpur Reimbursement of semester fees P.A. + Rs. 740/- P.M. for Boarder as Maintenance Allowance and Rs.330/- P.M. for day scholar.
4. Disabled Scholarship District Welfare Officer, Sambalpur Rs.1,900/- per year
5. National Talent Search Scholarship NCERT, New Delhi Rs. 6,000/- P.A.
6. Jindal Trust Scholarship Jindal Trust, Bangalore As decided by the trust
7. Nehru Memorial Scholarship NALCO, Orissa Rs. 6,000/- P.A.
8. NTPC Scholarship  to SC/ST students NTPC, New Delhi Rs. 10,000 P.A.
9. Senior Merit Scholarship Director, Higher Education, Orissa, Bhubaneswar Rs. 50/- P.M.
10. Sports Talent Scholarship Director of Sports & Youth Services, Orissa Rs. 75/- P.M.
11. SAIL Scholarship for SC/ST students SAIL, New Delhi Rs. 450/-
12. Scholarship to Children of the employees of Coalfields Eastern Coal Fields Ltd. Rs. 200/-
13. Merit Scholarship for the children of teachers of primary & secondary schools Govt. Of Orissa Rs. 1500/- P.A.
14. Scholarship for the children of
Postal Department employees
Post Master General, Orissa Rs. 100/- P.M.
15. Tata Jubilee Scholarship for the
Children of Tata Iron & Steel Co. Ltd.
Tata Steel Charitable Trust Rs. 350/- P.M.
16. Silver Jubilee Award to Best Graduates Old Boys Association, Rourkela Rs. 100/- P.M.
17. Silver Jubilee Award to Best Graduates Madnabati Charitable Trust, Rs. 125/- P.M.
18. Prof. D. Roy memorial award for  Prof. D.Roy       Rs. 500/- the best Mechanical Engg. Graduate Prof. D.Roy Rs. 500/-
19. Malay Kumar Das Memorial Gold medal for the Best Civil Engg. Graduate of the College Parents of  Late Malay Ku. Das Gold Medal
20. Malay Ku. Das Memorial Gold Medal for Best Engg. Graduate among all the graduating students of the University based on Academic Performance Parents of  Late Malay Ku. Das Gold Medal
21. Achyutananda  Pujari Gold Medal
For best Civil Engg. Graduates
Sri Nirmal Pujari Gold Medal
22. Prof. J.N.Panda memorial Gold medal for the best Electrical Engg. Graduate of the University & Book Prize to the student securing highest marks in Mathematics in 3rd semester Dr. S.Panda
NUS, Singapore
Gold Medal
23. Meritorious Women Scholarship Director, Higher Education, Orissa Rs. 1000/- P.M.
24. Scholarship for the Children of BSNL employees BSNL, Bhubaneswar As decided by the Agency
25. MCL Scholarship MCL, Burla As decided by the Agency
26. CISF EDUCATIONAL CISF, New Delhi As decided by the Agency
27. State Government Scholarship Deptt. of H.E., Orissa Rs. 10000/ - P. A
28. Merit Scholarship to needy and meritorious students Vikash Educational Charitable Trust, Vizag Rs. 20,000/- P.A.
29. Merit Scholarship to needy and meritorious students B.D.Patnaik Charitable Trust, Keonjhar Rs. 20,000/- P.A.
30. National Scholarship to disabilities students Govt. Of India Rs. 17,000/- P.A. (Rs.10000 – Scholarship + Rs. 7,000/- course fees)
31. Bank Scholarship to the wards of Bank employees Awarded by respective Bank As decided by the Bank
32. Prof. Ghanashyam Dash Scholarship for Higher Education IMFA Group, Orissa Academic Fees + Hostel fees for entire course
33. Meritorious scholarship to students Awarded by THE SAMAJ, Rs. 6000/- P.A.
34. Merit scholarship to the wards of BSNL employees Awarded by BSNL,India As decided by the BSNL
35. Merit Scholarship to the wards of Mines employees Welfare Commissioner, Labour Welfare Organisation Rs. 8000/- P.A.
36. National Merit Scholarship Directorate of Higher Education, Orissa, Bhubaneswar. Rs. 7500/- P. A.
37. Merit Scholarship to the dependent children of Ex-servicemen /widows. Rajya Sainik Board, BBSR Rs. 20000/- (For Course)
38. 1st Year Boy topper & Girl topper 1984 batch Alumni of VSSUT, Burla Cash Award (P.A.)
39. PG. Gate Scholarship AICTE, New Delhi Rs.8000/- P.M. + Rs. 5000 contingency
40. PG scholarship for SC/ST students UGC, New Delhi Rs. 5,000/- P.M. + Rs.15,000 Contingency P.A.
41. Merit cum Means based Scholarship to minority students SC/ST Department, Govt. Of Orissa Rs. 30,000/-  P.A.
42. Central Sector Scheme of Scholarship to Govt. Of India Nominee Students Respective North Eastern states of India As decided by their State Govt.
43. Tuition Fee Waiver scheme for women, economically backward and physically handicapped meritorious students (Upto 10% of sanctioned intake capacity) as per AICTE guideline.(Given in Table Below the branch wise no. of beneficiaries) VSSUT Tuition Fee


Branch (B.Tech.) Intake Capacity Women Physically Handicapped Economically Weakers Students Fee Waiver (10%) Total Admitted
Elect. Engg. 60 02 01 03 06 66
Mech. Engg. 60 02 01 03 06 66
Civil Engg. 60 02 01 03 06 66
Comp.Sc. & Engg. 90 03 02 04 09 99
MS Engg 30 01 01 01 03 33
El&TC Engg. 30 01 01 01 03 33
IT 40 01 01 02 04 44
Total 370 12 08 17 37 407