## Patron

Prof. Atal Chaudhuri, Vice Chancellor, VSSUT, Burla

## **Co-Patrons**

Prof. Piyush Ranjan Das, Dean, CDCE Prof. Siddharth Panda, Co-ordinator, TEQIP

## **Advisory Committee**

Prof. B. B. Pati, Director, IQAC

Prof.B. B.Pati, Dean, Faculty & Planning

Prof. P. C.Swain, Dean, Academic Affairs

Prof. S. S. Das, Dean, Students' Welfare

Prof. S. K. Swain, Dean, PGS & R

Prof. P. K. Modi, Dean, SRIC

Prof. P. K. Hota, Professor, EE & EEE

Prof. Prasanta Nanda, PIC, T & P

#### Chairman

Dr. S.K Sarangi H.O.D, Dept. of Mechanical Engg

#### **Conveners and Co-Conveners**

Dr.Pragyan.P.Mohanty

Dr.Swagatika Mishra

Dr. Debasmita Mishra

Dr.Madhusmita Pradhan

## **Core Organizing Committee**

Dr. Padmanav Dash

Dr. Aurovinda Mohanty

Dr. Rabindra Behera

Dr. Prabir Kumar Jena

Dr. Mihir Kumar Sutar

Dr. P.T.R. Swain

Mr. Johnson B. Lakra

Mr. Santosh Kumar Sahu

Mr. Layatitdev Das

## **About the University**

VSSUT Burla is the premier unitary technical university in the state of Odisha, established in the year 2009 after upgradation of the first engineering college of the state (University College of Engineering, Burla – Estd. 1956). The university is situated at the foot of world famous Hirakud Dam in a beautiful natural surroundings of river, lakes and mountains. VSSUT acts as an academic as well as a research hub by promoting quality technical education for the society in collaboration with closely located reputed educational institutions like Sambalpur University, VSS Institute of Medical Sciences & Research and emerging industries like Hindalco, MCL, Vedanta, Bhushan Steel etc.to name a few. The university has more than 15 departments offering 10 B.Tech., 7M.Tech., 4 M. Sc. program in diversified disciplines of engineering and sciences with a special focus on Ph. D. research on emerging and advanced areas. The university has currently 4400+ students, 300+ sanctioned faculty strength, 500+support staffs and 20000+ graduating students (alumni).

## **Department of Mechanical Engineering**

The department of Mechanical Engineering was established in 1956. It is the mother branch of all other streams. Design, Thermal and Production specialization (PG courses) were introduced in 1972. The prestigious alumni have proved their efficiency in India and abroad by serving in multifarious capacities. The aim is to impart quality education to students by enhancing their skills and encouraging innovative research and consultancy by establishing the state of the art research facilities through which the faculty members and engineers from the nearby industries can actively utilize the established the research laboratories. The department is undergoing projects under AICTE and DST and has presently got five years accreditation by AICTE for academic excellence. Expanding curricula as appropriate to changing scenario includes broader prospective. It has established linkages with world class R&D organizations and leading educational institutions in India and abroad for excelling in teaching, research and consultancy. The students conduct their own technical festival called 'INNOVA' and were felicitated and awarded for their research work in areas of Robotics, Automobiles and Space Science. The objective is creation of service opportunities and strives be recognized globally for imparting outstanding technical education and research creating world class leaders for the upliftment of the society at large.

# TEQIP-III Sponsored Workshop On

Advanced Techniques for Characterization and Optimization of Mechanical System (ATCOMS-2019) 2<sup>nd</sup>-6<sup>th</sup> April 2019



# Organized by



Department of MechanicalEngineering Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology Siddhi Vihar,Burla, Odisha – 768018, India http://www.vssut.ac.in

## Convener(s)

Dr.Pragyan.P.Mohanty Dr.Swagatika Mishra

## **Co-Convener(s)**

Dr. Debasmita Mishra Dr.Madhusmita Pradhan The TEQIP-III Sponsored Workshop On "Advanced Techniques for Characterization and Optimization of Mechanical Systems (ATCOMS- 2019)" will be held at VSSUT, Burla from 2<sup>nd</sup> - 6<sup>th</sup> April 2019 with the following broad objectives.

- To promote education, research and training in emerging and recent trends in Mechanical Engineering and novel methods of optimization for knowledge and betterment of the society.
- To improve the quality of technical education, research and training in diversified areas of design and simulation.
- To provide facilities and opportunities to inspire graduate, post-graduate, Ph.D. scholars and faculty members for collaborative research works.
- To foster co-operation and interaction between the academic and research community with industries to exchange knowledge and information about the latest development in relevant areas of teaching and research.

# Theme of the Workshop

The workshop will provide a unique opportunity for participants to understand the recent advances in Mechanical as well as Thermal design, characterization and their application by using different optimization techniques.

# **Resource Persons for the Workshop**

- 1. Prof. Swarup K. Mahapatra, IIT, BBSR
- 2. Prof. S.S.Mahapatra, NIT, Rourkela
- 3. Prof. Alok Satapathy, NIT, Rourkela
- 4. Prof. L.N.Panda, CET, BBSR
- 5. Dr. Animesh Mandal, IIT, BBSR
- 6. Dr. Subrat Panda, NIT, Rourkela
- 7. Dr. SauravDatta, NIT, Rourkela

## **Events of the Workshop**

- Registration and inaugural function
- 08 technical sessions
- Q & A with experts
- Certificate distribution and valedictory function

## Registration

Interested participants from industry, academic and research community are required to submit a filled and signed registration form (soft or hard copy) in prescribed format along with the registration fees in the form of DD drawn in favour of "Convener(s), ATCOMS- 2019" payable at syndicate bank, VSSUT, Burla so as to reach the following address "The Convener, (ATCOMS - 2019), Department of ME, VSSUT Burla - 768018, Odisha, India" on or before 25<sup>th</sup> March 2019.Hand delivered application is also accepted. There is no TA, DA and accommodation for the participants. However, the participants may get the list of nearby hotels by sending a request mail to conveners of this workshop. Selection will be based on first come first serve basis. Selected participants will be intimated through email on or before 25th March 2019. Registration fee includes workshop kit, workshop materials, participation certificate, High tea and grand lunch.

## **Registration Fee**

8	
Category	Fee
Research Scholar / Student(VSSUT)	300/-
Research Scholar / Student(Others)	400/-
Faculty Members(VSSUT)	500/-
Academician / Faculty Member(Others)	600/-
/ Industry Person	

## **Contact Address:**

"The Convener, ATCOMS-2019"

Department of Mechanical Engineering,

Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology

Burla, Sambalpur-768018, Odisha, India.

Email: pragyanmohanty.design@gmail.com
 swagatika.mechanical@gmail.com
 debasmita.mishra01@gmail.com

 Mob:(+91) 6370155813
 (+91) 9861289179

(+91) 9437159003

TEQIP-III Sponsored Workshop On Advanced Techniques for Characterization and Optimization of Mechanical Systems (ATCOMS-2019) Registration Form

1. Name:	
2. Designation:	
3. Organization:	
4. Qualification:	
5. Gender: Male/Female	
6. Address:	
7. Phone/Mobile:	
8. E-mail:	
9. Mode of Payment: Cash/	DD/NEFT
10. Amount:	
Place:	
Date:	

Signature of the Applicant

Copies of this form can be made, if necessary. Please send the filled in form to the **Convener** on or before 25<sup>th</sup> **March** 2019. The details and the form of the workshop can be downloaded from http://www.vssut.ac.in